Wednesday, May 14, 2008

After the Deadline: Kalamazoo

The Gazette has a list of candidates who filed for office in the Kalamazoo area. It comes in 66 parts. Some thoughts on selected races are below.

Candidates file for the Aug. 5 primary
(Kalamazoo starts on 8, Allegan starts on 23, Barry starts on 34, Cass starts on 42, St. Jospeh starts on 48, and Van Buren starts on 58.)

UPDATE: Here's a one-page candidate list.

Term limits spur flood of filings: Many pursuing seats in local, state, federal races
Two targeting longtime incumbents: Local politicians file to run against Upton, Levin
Rep. Shaffer files for St. Joe County board
5 attorneys seek district court seat

Countywide Offices:
Democrats filed to run against incumbent Republicans for Sheriff, Prosecutor, Clerk, and Drain Commissioner. Someone filed to run against Treasurer Mary Balkema, but she did not specify her party. None of the challengers are well-known political names. Nobody filed to run against non-incumbent Republican Bill Hahn for Surveyor.

District 5: College Student Jake Smith is challenging commissioner Brian Johnson in the Democrat primary.

District 6: Larry Stieglitz will again challenge commissioner Franklin Thompson.

District 10: Thomas Drabik is retiring. Former Portage Mayor James Graham is unopposed for the Republican nomination.

District 12: Democrat John Nieuwenhuis won this seat from Republican Bob Brink in 2006. Republicans Chris Haenicke and Scott Zondervan are seeking the Republican nomination. Haenicke is the son-in-law of former WMU President Diether Haenicke. Zondervan is a conservative who challenged Jack Hoogendyk for renomination in 2006 before dropping out and endorsing him.

District 15: Democrat Leroy Crabtree won this seat from Republicans in 2006. Republicans Ann Nieuwenhius and Derek Robinson are seeking the Republican nomination.

Republicans did not file candidates for four county commission seats, and democrats did not file for one seat.

No comments: