Thursday, September 20, 2007

Portage Elections

The filing deadline for the 2007 Portage elections has passed. Moderate Republican Mayor Peter Strazdas is running unopposed.

There are three City Council seats up for election. Incumbent Ted Vliek is not running for reelection. Conservative Republican Margaret O'Brien and moderate Republican Larry DeShazor are running for reelection. Three non-incumbents are running: Cory Bailes, Elizabeth Campbell, and Tom Fox. Their politics is unclear at this time.

Both O'Brien and DeShazor appear likely to run for the seat of State Rep. Jack Hoogendyk, who is term-limited in 2008. DeShazor was defeated in a primary challenge to Jack in 2006.

Previous: Portage Elections

No comments: