Thursday, November 07, 2013

Election Results

All the incumbents were reelected in Kalamazoo.  Bobby Hopewell won a fourth term as Mayor and sixth on the commission.  David Andersen will be vice-mayor, succeeding Hannah McKinney, who retired.  The other incumbents in descending order were Don Cooney, Barb Miller, Robert Cinabro, and Stephanie Moore.  The seventh seat will go to former democrat county commissioner Jack Urban.  The runners up were Tracy Hall, Jeff Weisman, Nicholas Boyd, Rico White, Mike Perrin, E Allen Hayes, Birletta Bean-Hardeman, Fred Lawrence. Republicans remain shut out here.

In Portage, Pete Strazdas was reelected Mayor unopposed.  Incumbents Claudette Reid and Terry Urban finished first an third.  Republican former county commissioner Nasim Ansari finished second; he will fill the seat of Ed Sackley.  Richard Ford finished fourth. This could be important, as there is an open seat following the resignation of Elizabeth Campbell, and the runner up is commonly appointed to an open seat in Portage. Unqualified 25-year-old democrat Connor Farrell finished a disappointing fifth.  Kevin Park was sixth.

There were a bunch of other elections scattered across the country. See this excellent roundup from RedRacingHorses:

No comments: