Saturday, May 28, 2011

Michigan Redistricting: County Commission Roundup

County commission redistricting is well underway, with the majority of counties appearing to have completed their new maps. Maps are drawn by a five-member commission consisting of the county prosecutor, treasurer, and clerk, and the chairmen of the Republican and democrat parties. There are a number of rules that must be complied with, which are laid out in the post below on Kalamazoo County.

In particular, the apportionment commission can pick the number of districts, within some boundaries. A trend in many counties has been to reduce the number of districts.

I did detailed analyses of the maps for Kalamazoo and Calhoun Counties. For other counties, I found some newspaper articles. Unfortunately, such articles tend not to do a good job explaining what is going on. Comments from readers in other parts of the state explaining what's happening in their area are welcome.

Kalamazoo: Kalamazoo County Commission Redistricting Plan Adopted

Calhoun: Calhoun County Commission Redistricting Plan Adopted

Oakland: Oakland GOP: Let county boards set districts
Adopted Map:
(passed by democrats 3-2)

Kent: Kent County board redistricting called 'political gerrymandering
Republican re-districting plan for Kent County board does not include a 'Hispanic' district
Map: Adopted Apportionment Plan

Genesee: Genesee County Republicans and Democrats approve new map for county commissioner districts

Washtenaw: Washtenaw County Board to Shrink from 11 to 9 Commissioners Under Approved County Redistricting Plan

Ingham: Ingham County Redistricting Raises Question

Livingston: Livingston County chooses new commissioner districts

Ottowa: Ottawa County approves new redistricting plan

Muskegon: Four Muskegon County commissioners face unique races after redistricting

Allegan: Reapportionment plan would shrink Allegan County Board from 11 members to 7

VanBuren: Van Buren County board boundaries set - still with seven commissioners

Barry: Reapportionment takes Barry County Commission from eight districts to seven

St. Joseph: 2 seats cut from St. Joseph County Board of Commissioners, making it a 5-member body

Saginaw: Saginaw County Board of Commissioners districts will merge to 11

Bay: Bay County redistricting: Check out the map to see each Bay County district

Marquette: Fewer commissioners for Marquette County
Marquette County residents lay plans to appeal apportionment

No comments: