Wednesday, May 14, 2008

After the Deadline: Michigan

The deadline to run for office in Michigan has passed. The unofficial list of candidates is on the Secretary of State website. Candidates can withdraw up to three days after the deadline. Some thoughts on selected races are below. The 2008 Election Preview has been updated.

2008 Unofficial Michigan Primary Candidate Listing

Senate: Jack filed 30,000 signatures, which is a strong show of support.

US House 6: Don Cooney filed 2000 signatures against Rep. Fred Upton.

US House 7: Mark Schauer has a primary opponent in Sharon Renier, who was the democrat nominee in 2004 and 2006.

US House 13: Two Democrats have filed to challenge Carolyn Cheeks Kilpatrick, the mother of embattled Detroit Mayor Kwame Kilpatrick.

Republicans usually file token challengers in unwinnable state house districts, but this year they didn't bother, and 14 districts have no Republicans running. They are in Detroit, Westland, Flint, Muskegon, and Washtenaw County.

Michigan House 7: Seventeen democrats filed for this district.

Michigan House 17: Three democrats filed to challenge Speaker Andy Dillon, who is facing a recall election in August.

Michigan House 45: Tom McMillin is running for state house in Rochester.

Michigan House 58: Former Rep. Steve Vear is running for another term in the state house. As the only Republican from Hillsdale County, he is in a good position to win.

Michigan House 61: Two last-minute candidates complicated the race. David Yardley filed as a Republican. He is the ex-husband of Melissa Yardley, who ran in 2002 and lost to Jack Hoogendyk. Alan Brown is running as a Democrat. It isn't immediately clear who he is. His address is listed in Pontiac, but his zip code is in Portage. [UPDATE: His address has been corrected to Portage on the SOS website.]

Michigan House 62: House staffer Gregory Moore and Battle Creek City Commissioner Susan Baldwin are seeking the Republican nomination. County Commissioner Kate Segal and college graduate Tim Nendorf are seeking the democrat nomination.

Michigan House 63: Calhoun County Commissioner Jase Bolger and former Rep. Jerry VanderRoest will seek the Republican nomination.

Michigan House 88: Eight Republicans will the nomination for this safe Allegan County seat.

Michigan House 105: Eight Republicans withdrew from the race after Rep. Kevin Elsenheimer decided to seek reelection instead of a judgeship.

8th District Judge: Four candidates are seeking this judgeship for Kalamazoo County.

1 comment: said...

Schauer v. Renier... I wish that'd wind up being half as much fun as it could be in theory.

Great recap!